hindmost.diaryland.com

the mouths of babes

Apr. 15, 2007 - 11:35 am



So Sean and I are over at my moms for breakfast this morning, and after I informed my mom about my (continuing... yeah) insomnia, we started talking a bit about the Lisa sitch. When I started talking about the manipulation being a transparent ploy to try and get me to beg her back, Sean (age 7) pipes up with, "So... do you consider that a challenge, Daddy?"

My mom and I looked at each other and both pronounced Sean "Profound."

Also on the way home, he asked if I still loved Lisa. I told him he was very perceptive, but that was a tough question... that I still cared for her and there was a part of me that would always love her, just as there was a part of me that would "always love mommy."

Naturally, being unable to lie, I told him that I loved mommy "as a mommy... 'cuz she's the greatest at that." But I digress...

I just told him what I have said here... that yes, I cared about Lisa, but there were just fundamental differences in us that precluded us ever being together, and she didn't seem to realize this (I said this all in 7-year-old-ese, naturally).

This is why I had previously decided I will accept *one* more phone call, to tell her that in as many words. This is far preferable to me than doing what *she* did (ignore me), which I thought was so incredibly childish at the time. My mom thought this decision was very wise. I will just tell Lisa that I cannot be whatever it is she wants me to be in her life, and it's just best if we go on with our lives separately. Best case scenario? She already realizes this, and won't contact me again... I won't be holding my breath on that one.

Good time with my mom... wish I had more. But I have actual *work* to do,the reason why I'm going to say I'm done here as well...


previous| next

diaryland