hindmost.diaryland.com

priceless...

Apr. 15, 2007 - 3:57 pm



Sean just asked me why I was laughing....

Theme from Get Smart! (my cell ringtone... what!?!)

Caller ID says Lisa... here we go.

Lisa: Hi... how was your weekend?

Me: Lisa, there's something I've been meaning to tell you... I should have done it Wednesday, and wanted to do this in person, but I thought you might not call back and as time goes by, the chance of me actually *seeing* you in person...

Lisa: Look, I know what you're going to say, and you're right... I want you t...

Me: My wife wants you to stop calling.

Lisa: *crickets*

Me: I got married three months ago. I was sort of hoping you might not call back, but it's gotta stop...

*click*

OK... nothing but Sean's asking why I was laughing actually happened, but it was the funniest damn thing I've thought of during this whole process, and I just *had* to get it down.

I could *never* do that; it would be the ultimate in cruelty for her to think that *two* men in a row... who she had been *madly* in love with, had long-term relationships with, would both get married to someone else within a year of breaking up with her.

But it was still funny, and would certainly take the wind out of her sails and stop the calls. I'll just settle for the truth if she calls... we have no future; please don't call back.


previous| next

diaryland