hindmost.diaryland.com

the grande finale

Apr. 12, 2007 - 12:11 pm



So as I'm pulling into the parking lot to get lunch. Lisa calls, ostensibly to make sure I'm OK after last night. I was a little puzzled; why *wouldn't* I be? It was really a great night, and I enjoyed the talking we did, the air-clearing and (even though I said I wasn't going to do it), the kissing part. I had to reiterate; "I am really *great*" with things several times, and let her know that no, I wasn't saying that to try and talk myself into it, or fake her out... really fine.

Not sure that's what she wanted to hear. I think she really had herself talked into that my life sucks, and sorry babe... it doesn't. Just take the wonderful evening for what it was... a way of us clearing the air, bringing each other up to speed and being really able to move on with our lives.

I told her that the convo last night *rocked,* that I loved hearing how she was doing, and agreed with a lot of what she had to say, but not everything. She wanted to know what I *didn't* agree with, but I just asked her, "Does it really matter?" and she admitted that no, not really. I think that in itself may have (partially) convinced her that things with me were truly OK... I think she was really trying to talk herself into being all wonderful and moved on, while I am still mired in the past. The truth for us both lie somewhere in between.

But we both agreed that the kissing wasn't going to happen again. After hanging up, I figure the opportunity wouldn't be there anyway, as I have no intention of seeing her again.

It was a nice, pleasant ending to things... a year-later epilogue to our relationship, and truly, the way I want to remember things.


previous| next

diaryland