hindmost.diaryland.com

still breathin'...

Mar. 29, 2007 - 9:27 am



So after a week perusing the match.com personals, and exchanging a few emails with one woman, I took down my profile. Did I find someone? Not hardly; I decided I'm still "not ready." I couldn't figure out the way I wanted to go with my profile, and I was concentrating *far* too much on the pictures of the people I was looking at rather than the content of their bios. I know that attraction and chemistry are going to be a big part of what I am looking for, but it was *too* much, telling me I'm still not ready.

So we'll see how I'm doing in a few months... alone time is still way too awesome.


Sean has joined Connor and I in the WoW world (my Warlock is 59 now, Terri, and loving the Outlands...), and Kathy is attempting to buy him a new computer. The one he has at her house right now is about 5 years old, and barely cuts it for most normal stuff, let alone a processor/memory/graphics intensive thing like that. Since she knows nothing, she asked for my help on things. Since it's for Sean, I spent quite a bit of time doing research and sent her a couple mid-range options. She sent me one that a guy at work sent her, for me to critique... it was a great deal, a little underpowered in the processor department, but still much better than the good ones the Boys have at my house, which I paid much more for last year. And it was about 35% off what I could get with my corporate discount.

I told her it was a good find, and my misgivings about the processor speed, but that for what he was using it for it would be more than adequate. That she should go ahead and get it, especially since it came with a free 21" flat panel.

So in the interim, the guy at work takes a look at it, and recommends she NOT buy it because
a) the underpowered CPU. Which she can upgrade, if she wants, and of *course* a better CPU will make the computer better. Which is not what she asked, she just wanted to know if the one she was looking at was adequate. It was.
b) It didn't have a dvd-burner. He's SEVEN.
c) "only" a 160G HD. See b) above.
d) It's a thinner case, so a possible expansion video card might be an issue. This is the only *legitimate* concern to have, yet Dell sells an expansion card for $100, and I looked it up... $110 for me to buy aftermarket. If we need it (which I don�t think we would). And if Dell is selling it, then it will fit (but might need a daughterboard, which would add to the price).

Kathy's not too bright, especially when it comes to computers, so she's going to listen to the last person she talks to. That person will NOT be me next time; I gave her a recommendation and she decided not to take it... fine. She can go with the person whose recommendation she trusts next time. And pay about $500 more than she would have for this system.

Geez... I was just looking it up again, and if I needed a computer I'd get that one... it's pretty good. But I just bought Boys new ones last year, and upgraded mine this year. We're good.

Hey, me not impulse buying... I *have* come a long way! :)


Spent last weekend tearing down the swingset... end of an era and kind of sad... I designed and built this thing for Connor's second birthday, nearly 11 years ago. He no longer plays on it, and Sean really never did. But getting the 18 bags of concrete out of the ground was a bitch. My nephew will be getting all the components (slide, swings, etc) next time we go up.

But we'll have an actual backyard now... maybe I'll get that trampoline...


previous| next

diaryland