hindmost.diaryland.com

ending the reign of slightly chunky guy

Mar. 12, 2007 - 6:27 pm



The Boys have decided they don't want to play soccer this season. That makes my life easier, of course, as I no coachee. But I will not allow them to sit around and play video games all day. (*cough* WoW *cough). So since they both like playing tennis, we will go out for a couple hours every (other) weekend and play.

To that end, I went and bought myself a medium-priced racquet today on my way to the docs... who said I really shouldn't play for a couple more weeks, but I may hit the balls around with the Boys a bit without running around. The knee is pretty good; a little stiff, but I can walk up&down stairs and I have begun working out again! WooHoo! After nearly 2 years of inactivity due to the divorce and getting back in touch with my inner me, I finally have motivation!

And what is that motivation, you ask??? Well, mainly, it's the same motivation I had 7-8 years ago when I was last in really excellent shape... being around to watch my grandkids grow up. While I've always known this (as I said, it's what got me going before), sometimes you just need a visual. That visual was a few pictures I had Connor take of me for my newly renewed Match.com profile.

Yeah, I don't know if I'm ready to date or not, but I do know I miss women in general, and being with someone I like to be with in particular. And with me not being a "casual sex/casual relationship type person, well... this is the best way to find out, right?

But the pictures came out of Slightly Chunky Guy. While people here at work are surprised to find out how much I weigh (234#), and don't think I really need to lose 30#, I think that's just more a measure of my size and height (6'4") affecting how they perceive me.

Either that, or they're full of crap.

So I'm not losing the weight for women (that's never a good reason; you have to do it for yourself), but because I know I need to. And get in better shape... so I started working out last week, even though I really can't do full cardio or a leg workout yet. But that will come in time... :)

And as far as the match thing goes??? No reply from the 6 women I emailed. I have received 6 myself, but no one really strikes my fancy. Time will tell...


previous| next

diaryland