hindmost.diaryland.com

haircut, ho!

Dec. 05, 2006 - 1:27 pm



No; not a ho's haircut... but haircut day today; then I can delete the Bowling Brady pic. ;-) I�ve let it get WAY out of hand, but like I said before� she�ll have something to work with. It�s a more high-end one than I have gone to in ages, but I want to see what can be done with it.


So this morning, I get in way early. Due to noise concerns down in the lab (long story... if it gets taken care of on Thursday, I may well report on it), I have been working in my office upstairs doing paperwork. I went down to get some coffee in the lunchroom and when I came back up a stairwell I normally don�t use that early, the door was locked, and my badge wouldn�t work on the reader.

Great. I went back downstairs and up the "usual" stairwell. I sat down at my desk, and typed out the following to our Facilities Mgr, titled "Door Locked":

" My badge would not unlock the door at the top of the stairs next to the lunchroom this morning. Please add my name to that access list.

Thank you."

Short, sweet, and to the point. Now, our Facilities Manager, in the nicest possible terms, can best be described as an

Ass
Hole.

It's always been a known fact with this guy; everyone has their run-ins with him at some point. It's just best to keep him at arms length, and realize he's going to puff out his chest whenever possible and basically remind you that he runs things around here.

Don't you love power pissing-contests? But what ensued after my request was ridiculous. A simple (and polite!) request for overlooked access turned into him getting all snippy, and me replying to each one a little snippy-er, (but professionally), finally ending with me cc:ing it to the engineering Manager. Next step was to *his* manager, but I think it's done.

More fun in the (upstairs) New World. His subordinate (who is a good friend of mine... fellow biker) told me my responses made his day, and that I was right on the money; the FM *was* being ridiculous.

Interestingly, talking with others (including my manager, who I cc:'d the original request to) have earned me quite a few stories of other run-ins this guy has had over the years. He's really just an unpleasant sort, and I'm glad I don't actually have to work with him... even if I do have to deal with him on occasion. Not too bad that it took eight years to have a run-in with this guy... we'll see where it goes.


previous| next

diaryland