hindmost.diaryland.com

additional kitchen work

Dec. 03, 2006 - 11:47 am



Taking a little break from Kitchen Work, so here's me, updating before 2007. Shocker of shockers! Typing this out on my PC attached to the 56" DLP I bought myself as (one of) my Divorce Presents to myself (the others being my motorcycle and new kitchen, of course). Wireless internet access, keyboard and mouse make it nice typing on the couch. Not terribly ergonomic, though.

I decided a couple weeks ago to add a Room Divider to my kitchen plans. Although it's not technically a *kitchen* room divider; more between the dining (area) room and the living room. And it's gonna look *great.* My neighbors across the street have the same floor plan, and they have an actual wall and doorway in this area. I really didn't want to close it out quite *that* much; I like the openness of my plan much better. But a little transition was in order, and besides... when I go to paint the ceiling, it will break this vast ceiling expanse into two parts, and make my back and shoulders *much* happier.

Nikki, I'm going to take pictures today and post them later. I'll even post the "before" kitchen pics, but I'm not putting the "after"s in until it's all done. The room divider (I've been calling it an "arch;" let me know if you think the name applies) isn't done, but it's picture-worthy, and you can get a feel for it.

Of course, adding this thing in makes getting the room done by Christmas a little more dodgy; I'll have the kitchen done, and the arch, but likely not the living room. The Boys might just have to help me out a bit; I told Connor painting was in his future.


Christmas Party last night for work, I wore my Formal Kilt attire, which was of course quite the conversation point for the night all around. Not why I did it, of course, but it was still fun. First time I've gone stag to a Christmas party (or really any work function) in over 20 years... was interesting. Was also only 4 miles form my house, and yet I had no designated driver and had to watch my alcohol intake.

Go me.

Also didn't bring a 23-year old like last year, but instead a flask of what I call my "everyday sipping whisky," which is a mere 18... still legal, of course. :)

There was one waitress in particular that caught my eye... six feet tall, and very good looking... kept asking me if I was going to dance, what I was wearing under the kilt, etc... I didn't pursue (gorgeous tall waitresses I am sure get hit on all the time by dirty old men like me, I am sure), but she stuck in my mind. Friends said I *should* pursue, but I think I am still extremely happy not going there... for now.

And besides; I'm a bit, out-of-practice wimp when it comes to hitting on women. Hmmm... maybe I should start practicing *now* while I really don't care what the outcome is...


Speaking of which... I dodged not only a bullet but a fucking howitzer by not pursuing that soccer mom from a few weeks ago.

Friday I pulled up on my bike, and she was sitting in her truck out front, talking on her cellphone while one of her daughters was inside with Connor playing with the kitten. Apparently, she was without a place to stay, had just lost her job (since, according to her and understandably as she is hot, her boss wanted to jump her), hadn't showered all day, and was calling actual homeless shelters.

When I started talking to her a bit (before finding all this out), my heart quickened... I *really* wanted to invite her in, but somehow, something intervened. Said intervention had been in the form of an email earlier in the week when Kathy asked if I could have the Boys overnight (swap day was supposed to be Friday, before soccer mom showed). I *think,* had I not had to pick up Sean and the Boys not been staying over, I might have invited her to stay over... at least for a nice sweaty weekend. However, knowing the Boys were going to be around allowed me the opportunity to talk to her for a while, and to discover that what I originally thought was "a little messed up emotionally" is more aptly described as "fucking psycho."

As I was talking to her, I kept trying to excuse myself, and go get Sean from daycare. I finally did, but not before she laid her whole miserable story on me, ex-husband who is trying to screw her (in court...), problems with job, money, etc... good grief; if I had invited her in, I'd never be able to get rid of her. I'd have boiled bunnies in my future.

Long story short... listen to the little voice that is whispering "nutjob..." And don't let the little head do the thinking for the big head. I've generally not had that problem (again... I need that emotional attachment), but it's good to know.


And finally, on Friday I sent out for review at work a document I have been working on for ages... HUGE weight off my shoulders; first test document I have written from scratch in several years. Of course, that means that the *real* fun starts now; I have one more (much easier) one to do this week, then I get to implement them over the next few months.


OK; back to the archwork, and finding someplace to upload the pictures. I used to have an OFoto account; lets see if it's still around. Maybe even throw one in of the non-showered 'do from today. Or at least the kilt-enabled legs from last night... :)

But in writing this, I'm sitting here looking at this arch just saying, "I *love* this." It's such a small, simple thing, but I think it's really going to do a lot for these rooms.


previous| next

diaryland