hindmost.diaryland.com

Wasn't it just yesterday...

Sept. 08, 2006 - 10:06 am



Boys are off to Kathy's tonight... yesterday was the first day of school.

Kathy offered to take Sean to his first day of second grade, since I wanted to take Connor to his first day of seventh grade... yep; Junior High. He was SO excited, and I was excited for him. In order to help him out a bit in the "Big Kid Coolness Factor," I decided to ride him to school on the back of the motorcycle. I won't be able to do that much, since I need to take Sean to his (different) school as well. But since Kathy offered, and I had the opportunity, off went Connor and me on the bike.

Unfortunately, it started off on a bad note, as he was sitting on the bike with his helmet on, and removed it, banging it on the gas tank and putting a dent in it. I yelled at him, but he was so hurt by that I immediately apologized. He knew he screwed up, he felt bad about what he had done to the bike, and my yelling accomplished nothing except putting a damper on our morning. The apology was sincere (I am a constantly learning parent, after all), his mood was good enough that I hadn't ruined it, and we were cool (which I confirmed later)

The ride was good, particularly since there were about 40 cars waiting for the stop sign next to the school... we whizzed around them. We stopped right in front of the school and got off; there were only a couple kids out there, but they definitely noticed. Inside we went.

He was in awe... we had been to the school before, which coincidentally was the same Jr High I went to. But all the kids hanging around, talking... much like he did last year in his final grammar school class. Not playing on (nonexistent) swingsets... He didn't see anyone he knew from sixth grade, but he was having such a great time just taking it in, and I stayed with him until the bell rang.

When it did, he walked over to his line, and as I walked over with him, I started tearing up (kinda like I'm doing right now in remembering it)... wasn't it just yesterday I took him to kindergarten for the first time? He'll be riding his bike to school most of the time... didn't I just teach him how to ride without training wheels last weekend? All those "too-fast" parenting clich�s just came racing through my brain.

But I didn't hug him (wanted to, of course, but didn't want to embarrass him), just patted him on the shoulder and walked away.

I decided to leave work and pick him up, again on the motorcycle. I got there a little early and the principal happened to be outside the gate where I was waiting, so I talked to her for a few minutes. After the bell rang, he came out pretty quickly, and I talked to him for a couple minutes, asking him about his day and letting the crowd of his future friends build a little.
Only problem with setting him up for the coolness factor... he put on his helmet too quickly, so once I started the bike the other kids wouldn't know who he was! He was *supposed* to stand there talking to me for a bit with the engine running so the other kids could see him!

Ah well... there'll be time enough for that.

He had a great day though... saw a lot of his friends, and made a few new ones. He is such a personable kid; a bit shy at first, but when he is in his comfort zone he is just a *good* kid, well adjusted with a great head on his shoulders.

And best of all... I still got/get hugs and kisses and "I love you, Daddy"s from him at all points yesterday. But for today, for right now, I will hold on to him and his brother so tightly... I have been saying I didn't even want Sean to turn seven (which he did last weekend), let alone grow up, and hadn't given Connor much thought. But he's still my little boy in many ways, as well as my little man. I will always let them know they are loved and cared for... it's all I can do.

That, and help as best I can to guide him through the minefield upon which he has embarked... Jr High and then High School... wow.


previous| next

diaryland