hindmost.diaryland.com

What a great weekend.

Aug. 21, 2006 - 11:29 am



For starters, the Boys and I went out for what will most likely be our last trip out to my Dad's lake house.

OK, so that part isn't so great, but we still had a great time. That included getting Connor water skiing for the first time (and my brother got video!), even though we won't have anywhere to take him after this. My brother, sister and I also went skiing; I only went halfway around a lake I used to do twice, and I am sore as hell today. Getting old sucks. But it was much fun!

My Dad is still trying to palm this old slot machine on me... it doesn't work, and it weighs about 400 pounds. I don't want it, but when we went out there, my name was on it as a "reservation." I *told* them I didn't want it, but since my grandfather bought it, they think it should be "kept in the family." Sheesh... I have kept his *house* in the family!

I just wrote to my dad to let him know it was up for grabs... if he still wants me to take it, I'll just let him know that on Final Lake Moving Day (over Labor Day weekend), I'll help him carry it out to the dumpster he's renting.


Then on Sunday, Connor and I went on our Motorcycle Rally, and it was awesome... nothing like riding through the canyons with 2000 of your best friends. Mostly "bikers," which I most certainly am not, but there were a lot of higher-end bikes there, and I most definitely got over my aversion to Harleys, since probably 95% of the bikes there were of that type.

So an offhand comment by me, that I now wanted one, and now Connor wants me to give him the bike I just bought 4 months ago! Heh... it's a little big for him to learn to ride on, though... but I may well have to see about something for him at some point.


And he's off to camp today for the week... last night, I went to charge one of those mega-power 2,000,000 candlepower flashlights in my truck... and it drained my battery. Luckily, it was only 3 blocks to the B&G Club for the dropoff, so we strapped his stuff to the back of the bike and rode on over.

My truck battery is charging at home.

Reeeeeely lovin' life right now... I think I'm going to have to go on a cruise on that bike every weekend; this was the first one. I had only been really riding to and from work on the thing.


previous| next

diaryland