hindmost.diaryland.com

Post-vacation

Jul. 31, 2006 - 8:32 am



I had the Boys for three weeks... it was my "summer vacation" time with them, right after Kathy had them for her three weeks, including that week in Florida.

Oh yeah... I'm sick of the anonymizing names. It's not like I am broadcasting this to the world, or even care.

But after three weeks, I found I had *really* enjoyed being a full-time parent... but that it's really tough to do by myself as well. So I enjoyed a little alone time, beginning on Friday night by gorging myself at a local Sushi Bar, and then working on my Kitchen a bit Saturday morning.

I don't work on the house when I have the Boys, and before the 3 weeks, I had been on vacation, so it had been something like a month and a half since I had done any work. So Home Depot beckoned; I bought the paint and a few plugs which need switching out. I would really like to have the kitchen done by Sean's birthday party in a month.

But then Sean's Cub Scout Raingutter Regatta called, so we spent a couple hours at the church having fun with 9 of the 11 Wolves in our Den... that's a pretty good showing!

Sunday I had to go out to my Dad's lake house... he finally sold the place and needed my truck to move some large stuff... It had been nearly 30 years since he bought it, and we're really going to miss it. It was a nice weekend getaway, and really saved my sanity a few times during the divorce, just for a place to get away, either alone or with the Boys.

Then my Dad's birthday over at his regular house, and Kathy said it was fine to bring the Boys. So my Alone Time wound up being more Boy Time, which was fine by me.


I know it had been a while since I have had much to say here; I've been busy busy, and just no time to update. I spent July Fourth with a friend of mine who has a place up in Washington, right on the water. I had one of the premier vacations of my life. Just incredible, although 2 weeks not seeing the Boys was a bit rough. We drove up there, and I flew back a week later... my friend drove back a couple weeks after that, but I had work to do.

Part of my vacation with the Boys wound up out at my Dad's lake house, likely for the last time. Ran into some boat issues and called him, where he informed me it had been sold. Because we couldn't use the boat, we spent most of the time in the water or inside in the ac. Time with Boys is good.

Next year, I think we're going to spend some time up at my friend's place in Washington.

Heh... I just took a little break after thinking about what we wanted to do on our way *up* there...

"I have a cunning plan..." /Julian the Lemur King (can you tell I've been watching "Madagascar" too many times?)

So where was I... oh yeah. The OC (which is where we live) to Santa Cruz... stay a couple days with my Brother.

Santa Cruz to Southern Oregon... 3 nights camping including a 2-day River Rafting Trip. Sean's never been (too little); Connor and I have gone a couple times, but on the American River east of Sacramento... much closer to home and a fairly easy drive from/to my Brother's. But since we're going farther, it's time to try someplace new.
We'd camp the night before and after; I don't want to arrive tired, and I *know* I'll be too tired to drive very much afterwards.

Then up to Washington... his place is amazing.


One issue I have been having with my kitchen is the people installing my backsplash. They installed the tile, but I was having inserts made out of the granite from my countertop. They made five different appointments with me to install the inserts, and flaked on me five times... without so much as a phone call.

After the fourth, I decided I wasn't going to pay them the 50% balance on the installation. I figured I would let them keep the deposit, since the *had* installed the tile, but I was going to have to find something for the inserts (I decided on a deep burgundy, to match a thread in the granite), install, grout and seal the tile myself.

Last week, the installer showed up, out of the blue. I hadn't yet bought the inserts, but told him I wasn't going to let him finish the installation, and had already made other arrangements. He totally understood, and gave me the inserts fabricated from my granite. Score!

He also gave me a pamphlet if I needed other work done, but I'll pass... he did an OK job on the backsplash, but if I'm going to hire a professional installer, I want a masterful job done. Tile is more of an art, and if I want "OK," I'll do it myself.

This was last Wednesday, and I haven't heard from the tile place yet. If they think they're getting even a portion of their money other than the deposit, well... I'll make every attempt to keep the phrase "pound sand" unuttered.


Should have the drywall all sealed and ready for paint this weekend... of course, I'll have the Boys so won't be doing the work. Besides, I will likely be having a parent's meeting for Sean's soccer team... yep; it's that time of year again. At least I'm only coaching *one* team this year; Connor's at an age (the "under 14" league) where my coaching skills (such as they are) are completely inadequate for the level of play of these boys.


previous| next

diaryland