hindmost.diaryland.com

growing up

Jun. 13, 2006 - 9:53 am



OldestBoy turns 12 next week. Starts Jr High in September, and wants to not go to the B&G Club after school; he wants to just come home instead. When he's with me, he can "check in" with neighbors down the street, and call me to make sure he got home OK. His Jr High is actually closer to TheX's than my place.

That's *his* plan, anyway... I'm still not too sure.

He wants to come home with a friend tomorrow; I'm *really* not sure about that, but he wanted to attempt the solo thing today, so I am giving him a shot. He has been instructed to walk straight home, check in with the neighbors, and call me. If he can do that, I may let him and his friend come home.

He knows no swimming. He knows not to go in my room or my bar. We'll see how it goes today. Gotta show him he's trustworthy, and I hope he doesn't blow it.

Gotta be a trusting Dad... until he provides a reason not to (and I've told him Consequences, which he understands). I really need to get my internet blocking software updated, and maybe set up a few of those webcams I can monitor from work.


previous| next

diaryland