hindmost.diaryland.com

kitchen interrupting Boy time

May. 15, 2006 - 2:17 pm



I continued to work my ass off this past weekend on installing the kitchen... since the dumpster will be picked up today, I spent last night installing all but two of the cabinets, and then getting as many of the boxes and assorted crap into the dumpster. This included taking up all the boxes I had taped to the hardwood floors so as not to thrash them. I finished about 11:30, but the house is looking pretty good about now.

Granite measurements tomorrow; I will install the last two base cabinets when I get home tonight. Should only take about an hour.

After constantly working this weekend while having the Boys, I apologized to them while tucking them into bed last night. Told them that this was really a one-time project, and any others would be done when they were with their mom on those weekends I just really had to get this *done,* as we are without a kitchen at this point and I want to make that timeframe as short as possible. Worse yet; my backup sink in the garage has sprung a leak, so I'll be having a tough time cleaning out there as well.

I'll fix that when I get back from Vegas. Along with setting up the island and corresponding counter/underlayment.

But after the granite/backsplash is installed, my weekends with Boys will be spent *with* the Boys, not working on the house. Swimming, beachgoing, soccer, or out to the lake (until my Dad sells the place)... Boy Time.

They seemed cool with that, but OldestBoy was making *sure* that things would be done by the time he gets back for Memorial Day Weekend. Hedging his bets, as it were... heh.

I can always leave things half-done for the weeks they are in the house, provided safety isn't impacted. It's all about being flexible and working around the new living situations at this point in my life.
I also felt bad about yelling at the OldestBoy for a moment as he continued to point out a mistake I made in one of the cabinets... it's something that needs fixing, I *will* fix, and I don't need him constantly reminding me it is broken. That coupled with my being very, VERY tired had me lose my cool for a moment... I will apologize to him this evening for that as well, with the explanation of my tiredness. Not an excuse, but an explanation... hopefully next time I can catch myself, and it won't be necessary.

Of course, if I follow my plan, I won't even be working on the house when they are around, so it will all not matter anyway.


previous| next

diaryland