hindmost.diaryland.com

ongoing kitchenness

May. 12, 2006 - 10:34 am



Weird; with the ex-GF out of the picture, my email is nearly completely silent. emailing a few friends (including the one I am heading to Vegas with next weekend!!!), but that's about it.

Silence is Golden, baby!


Phase 2 of the electrical is done (at least I think so... as I was writing this I couldn't remember seeing the range igniter plug, but of course I didn't look). I have lots of neat new lights in the bathrooms and kitchens, plugs where I will need them after the granite is installed... good stuff.

I had to put off the countertop final measurements for a week, as I didn't get finished in time. They'll be out on Tuesday, and I'll finish the cabinet install this weekend. My cabinet chick is getting me a new island cabinet; all I need are the measurements so I can make the counter underlayment and then they can measure for that hunk of granite...

heh... if I was out there reading something this boring, I think I would have opened my wrists by now... :) It all goes apace... but I am totally broke (or will be after this is all said and done).


I've been buying all this kitchen stuff with my credit card, in order to get frequent flier miles for something I have money for anyway. I flew first class to Scotland last year using these miles... the only way to go. Australia is next. At my size, first class for a trip like that is almost mandatory.

But my Bank screwed up on the payment this month, sending it to the wrong address. Since it was over $25K, they had to mail it rather than send it electronically, and they address they had on file was over 2 years old. It wasn't an address *I* entered either, but rather one that they had in their database.

However, one phone call to the bank got the credit card Customer Service on the line, and with all three of us conferring, all late charges (and over $500 in interest) were waived.

Cool.

I doubt I'll be putting that much on the card again, what with the being broke and all, as well as finishing up on the kitchen.

Of course, my $20K "rainy day fund" will be about $17K after all this... but I'll bite the bullet and build it up by the end of the year.


previous| next

diaryland