hindmost.diaryland.com

i'm a baaaaaad boy...

Apr. 26, 2006 - 7:02 pm



Only because yesterday at work, I was talking to a Scotch newbie, and he was complaining a bit about how the Glenmorangie 12 yr old Port finish was "too harsh" and too expensive for him.

$32 for a bottle is too expensive? oooohkaaay...

He wasn't really complaining, but more saying that he wasn't sure he liked it without ice...

*cringe*

Anyway... I told him that although I had recommended it for starters, it was definitely an acquired taste, and that he should experiment a bit. That most of *my* bottles averaged about $60-$70(not trying to sound pretentous here, but it's the truth).

He wasn't ready to go there. I told him you definitely get what you pay for.

Talking to him reminded me my collection was getting short; under 60 bottles! Can't have that! So I headed off to my local Church after work in search of offerings... I have a standing order with friends that if they ever find any Glenmorangie 18 yr old for $60 a bottle to pick me up four. It's normally $85, and as my everyday "sipping" whisky, I like to keep a good supply on hand.

As you might imagine, I ran out a few weeks ago. This wasn't $60, but at $66, I couldn't really complain.

So I bought three. Hence the "bad boy."

Also bought one one of these. I've been out of it for a while too.

But seeing as how my electrical work came out actually $700 UNDER the bid (and when was the last time that happened???), the $350 I spent on Whisky is a celebration of sorts.

I almost bought a $200 bottle for TheX for her upcoming 40th birthday... but settled on some nice scotch glasses instead.


So yes... PHASE TWO is complete... my house now has SAFE electricity, and best of all, all that crap-ass low voltage tap lighting is GONE. My electrician said he'd never work on that again; I'm glad he didn't hit on it before he got to me.

This guy is a GOD... I'm an electrical engineer, but I work on a much more micro level than do these guys... they rock.


previous| next

diaryland