hindmost.diaryland.com

not backsliding

Apr. 24, 2006 - 11:05 am



This morning I called the ex-GF, just to see how she's doing and check on how her mom is doing. I haven't spoken to her in over a month, and only a few cursory emails.

Alarm bells out there; I can hear them, but not to worry... it's a lot better than what I *almost* sent her this weekend... I was listening to some music while cleaning the bar, and just started really missing her. Missing the love we shared.

I do so love being in love...

But I wrote out a few paragraphs, which I will *not* post here. Nor will I send them to her. The melancholy missing of her and good thoughts were replaced a day later by the negatives I spoke of before... I know I am focusing on them to steel my resolve, which is fine.

Anyway... she wasn't there this morning, or chose not to answer after seeing my caller ID. So I called and left a message on her cellphone. If she doesn't reply... so be it. Wasn't for lack of trying (to be nice and check up on her, not get back together) on my part.


I got shanghaied into coaching OldestBoy's Arena soccer team for the next 8 weeks. I like this SO much better... quicker paced, no practices and just show for the games... they can use the walls and goalies can't use their hands with a smaller goal.

Saturday was the first game; I almost blew it off because I was having my appliances delivered, but at the last minute I wrote a note telling them to come back in an hour and a half and jumped on my bike to head over... carrying a soccer ball on a motorcycle is interesting, to say the least.

The coaching is easy; just rotate the kids in every few minutes. OldestBoy was *awesome* at goalie, even though they scored on him a few times... he was blocking up a storm, and got *tagged* in the chest twice. But he never gave up.

Yeah, it was one of those "amazing" moments, Nikki... :) Even parents on the opposing team were awestruck at how great he was doing.

Appliances didn't show until 2 hours after I got back; an hour *outside* the window they had given me. I was fine with that; wasn't doing anything but getting ready for the electricians (who are busily re-wiring my house as I type). But I would have been *pissed* had I blown off the game to wait for them when they didn't show.


Appliances were STEP ONE. They are in the house now, even if they are not installed. They're way cool, and if the *appliances* are making me smile like this, I can just imagine what the cabinets and granite are gonna do!

I will wash out the fridge this weekend and plug it in, swapping the food out from the old fridge. Oldest Boy and I are going to begin demolition on the kitchen (I would imagine he'll get bored after about 10 minutes of smashing tile, but told him I would let him help), and then we're going to head under the house to add a gas line for the range.

Blah, blah, boring, boring... more home improvement. All good from this end! :)


previous| next

diaryland