hindmost.diaryland.com

skating with tigers

Mar. 01, 2006 - 7:56 am



Went rollerskating with my Cub Scout troop last night. Not only did my little Tiger go (I am Youngest's Den leader), but so did his brother and his mother. I have no problem with the Boys' mother (or at least won't once the whole money fiasco is finally ironed out); although in a perfect world we would never have any contact with each other for the rest of our lives, I realize that as co-parents we are stuck with each other. I actually wish that; during the divorce I always completely insisted on 50-50 custody, even though throughout the years I had been the more hands-on parent. Boys need both of their parents around as much as possible.

But the skating was SO much fun! I haven't been on roller*skates* in probably 20 years (I go rollerblading with the GF on occasion). I used to be pretty good, and about 75% came back to me before the end of the evening, but what was completely amazing was that the Youngest Boy started out... well, "wobbly" would be generous; he was almost crying because he kept falling down. But he never gave up, and by the end of the night he was going all by himself, not grabbing the wall (much) and not falling down (much). I don't think I have ever been so proud of his perseverance.

He wants to go again this weekend... Oldest is going to Disneyland with some friends, so we may head on over to a different (closer) skate park after his soccer game. Of course, my ancient hips are *killing* me this morning, but that's what Advil is for.


previous| next

diaryland