hindmost.diaryland.com

starting anew

Feb. 14, 2006 - 7:57 am



Well, it seems as though it is time to resurrect this thing. Over here, at least, there will be the veneer of anonymity I had years ago, what with names changed to protect the sometimes-innocent and alla that. For the two people who have been following my exploits over the last two & a half years, should you need a playbook on who is who, just let me know. It should be fairly obvious, though. For the additional two I invited in just as diary-x crashed and burned, well... sorry about that. Hopefully they will get it back up and running, and the passwords I provided will still work. If they don't, well, we'll work something out.

Anyone else... sorry; there was a lot of personal info there which won't make it over here.

What type? Well, specifically, details about my divorce, which although we were legally separated for two years, wasn't final until August. About how the ex didn�t move out of my house until two weeks ago. It's effect on my Boys, the effect of family on me and my decisions on them. Garbage moves TheX (I think I like that better than "K" at least for now) pulled to delay the divorce and attempt to wrest the house from me, even though it was in my family for four generations. Those delays were *excruciating* to me, as we were living under the same roof while we dealt with the house issue. I basically had to shut down in dealing with most issues, except where my Boys were concerned.

Dealing with lawyer issues, having to fire one for incompetence, and spending $25 grand in order to *keep* the house. Loan issues, breakups with the GF, reconciliations and potential futures... things which will play out over time.

But things are now set for the future... even though I have (and insisted on) joint custody, I awoke this morning and all this week in an empty house. Empty except for the cats, of course, and all this week except on Thursday, as my Boys spend the night with me on my birthday, even when it isn't my week.

Yep... birthday tomorrow. The GF is bringing her kids and dinner over to have with me and mine. This weekend we'll be heading out to my Dad's lake house, which he just informed me he is planning on selling this year, as the upkeep is just way too much. Birthday Sushi with him was last night; I received my obligatory bottle of whisky which I sampled when I got home... mighty tasty.

This is all very top-level... I wish I had the last entry from that other journal; I had been meaning to do another backup but just kept forgetting... but the one thing I remember was last Thursday night, my youngest son (age 6) being tucked into bed by me and lamenting how he wished mommy still lived with us... I just let him know (as always) that we both loved him very much, and that we had enough love for two houses. Hugging and holding him is one of the greatest joys in my life. I feel sorry for the little guy, but I also know that once things settle down, our lives will be much better.

His older brother (age 11) is seemingly doing very well through everything. He commented over a year ago how TheX and I were "already divorced," so I think he'll have an easier time moving on. Not "easy" by any means, just "easier" than his little brother. I make sure they both know they can talk to me at any time about anything, and I show and tell and give them as much love as I possibly can.

Other things to follow at some point...


previous| next

diaryland